Knox Central’s Collins leads coaches all-region team

Harlan County’s Karst a first-team selection


Les Nicholson

Harlan County junior guard Ella Karst, pictured in action at the 13th Region Tournament, was a first-team selection on the 13th Region Coaches Association All-Region Team.

By John Henson, Managing Editor

Knox Central forward Halle Collins leads the 13th Region Coaches All-Region Team after a breakout sophomore campaign that saw her lead the region in both scoring, at 27.3 points per game, and rebounding, at 14.4 per contest, while leading the Lady Panthers to a 23-6 mark and a 51st District title.
North Laurel’s Eddie Mahan was the choice as coach of the year as the Lady Jaguars take a 27-6 record into Friday’s semifinal showdown against South Laurel.
Harlan County junior guard Ella Karst was the only local player on the all-region first-team after scoring 19.4 points per game while moving up to third on the all-time scoring list at HCHS. She is in position to become only the second player at Harlan County to score 2,000 points and only the sixth in county history.
HCHS senior Jaylin Smith was a second-team selection as were Harlan sophomores Kylie Noe and Aymanni Wynn. Harlan junior guard Emma Owens was a third-team selection.

First Team All-Region:
Gracie Jo Wilder – Bell Co.
Emily Sizemore – North Laurel
Abby Gilbert – Jackson Co.
Kallie Housley – Corbin
Ella Karst – Harlan Co.
Emily Cox – South Laurel
Nadine Johnson – Pineville
Brooke Nichelson – North Laurel
Darci Anderson – Corbin
Kylie Clem – Corbin

Second Team All-Region:
Kylie Noe – Harlan
Kena Ward – Jackson Co.
Mataya Ausmus – Bell Co.
Aymanni Wynn – Harlan
Chloe McKnight – North Laurel
Skeeter Mabe – South Laurel
Jaylin Smith – Harlan Co.
Lauren McGeorge – Bell Co.
Shelbie Mills – South Laurel
Timberly Fredrick – Knox Central

Third Team All-Region:
Keevie Betts – Middlesboro
Sarah Smith – Barbourville
Allie Wilson – Williamsburg
Madisyn Hopkins – Williamsburg
Emma Owens – Harlan
Mackenzie Sizemore – Clay Co.
Ava Arnett – Pineville
Madison Curry – Jackson Co.
Bella Sizemore – North Laurel
Abby Mabe – Lynn Camp

Senior Academic All-Region:
• Award goes to seniors who have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher.

Linnea Valenti – Barbourville
Mataya Ausmus – Bell Co.
Mikayla Gambrel – Bell Co.
Jaylen Combs – Clay Co.
Mackenzie Sizemore – Clay Co.
Brooke Dezarn – Clay Co.
Jaylin Smith – Harlan Co.
Hailey Austin – Harlan Co.
Taylor Lunsford – Harlan Co.
Taytum Griffin – Harlan Co.
Peighton Jones – Harlan
Adycin Truett – Jackson Co.
Madison Marcum – Jackson Co.
Kena Ward – Jackson Co.
Emily Mills – Knox Central
Isabella Blevins – Lynn Camp
Lindsey Cox – Lynn Camp
Alissa Crumpler – Lynn Camp
Abby Mabe – Lynn Camp
Mackenzie Owens – Lynn Camp
Kamryn Keith – Middlesboro
Emily Sizemore – North Laurel
Emily Cox – South Laurel
Michaela Barton – Whitley Co.
Maddie Richardson – Whitley Co.
Zoie Brown – Williamsburg