Rosspoint captures county title with victory over Trojans

After two straight runner-up finishes, the Rosspoint Wildcats are back on top of the county’s seventh- and eighth-grade division. Rosspoint overcame a slow start with a strong second half to defeat James A. Cawood 52-40 on Thursday at Harlan County High School.
James A. Cawood led 9-3 after one quarter and 17-13 at halftime, but the Wildcats took control after the break behind eighth-grade guards Gage Bailey and Jayce Brown.
Bailey, who finished with 15 points, scored 12 in the third quarter as Rosspoint took a 34-29 lead. Brown, who added 14 points, took over in the fourth period with 11 points.
“We knew coming in it was going to be a rough game. We had played them three times earlier,” said Rosspoint coach Hobie Boggs, who has led the Wildcats to eight county titles going back to 2004 “Hats off to JACES. They came in with a great game plan and it threw us for a loop in the first half. We made some adjustments at halftime and came out playing our game. I believe we wore them down. This is probably the deepest bench I’ve had, and I had to use them in the first half because of foul trouble.
“The eighth-graders on this team really stepped up. We were so quick, it was hard to focus on one player. I am very proud of every one of them all the way down the bench.”
Landon Brock scored 16 and Brennan Blevins added 14 to lead the Trojans.
Down seven going into the fourth quarter, Evarts rallied for a 44-43 overtime win to capture third place in the tournament.
Ashton Sizemore poured in 24 points to lead the Wildcats. Aiden Reynolds added 11.
Ethan Shular led Cawood with 15 points. Brady Smith and Brayden Smith contributed 12 and 10 points, respectively.
Evarts (44) — Ashton Sizemore 24, Aiden Reynolds 11, Grayson Grills 5, Jacob Deleon 2, Brady Freeman 2
Cawood (43) — Brayden Smith 10, Ethan Shular 15, Brady Smith 12, Brayden Fultz 5, Gage Peck 1.
Rosspoint (52) — Gage Bailey 15, Jayce Brown 14, Gunner Burkhart 7, Chance Sturgill 6, Brayden Morris 3, Brody Hensley 2, Cole Cornett 2, Kayden Hensley 2, Gunnar Johnson 1.
James A. Cawood (40) — Landon Brock 16, Brennan Blevins 14, Bradon Clay 7, Bryson Bryant 2, Elijah Moore 1.